Oh please don’t tell me you think this is real

This summer I am busy working on my thesis, but I am also disturbed by some of the images of Black women that I see.  I knew from the beginning of Love and Hip Hop: Atlanta, I would not be watching. Although I knew it wasn’t something I wanted to watch, I watched the first episode before its television debut, and I was correct. It was too much and far from reality. The sad part is that some people really think it is real. You can’t really think something as drama filled and stereotypical is real. People really don’t act like that.

My interests are Black women friendships, and I was really disappointed to see how our friendships were portrayed in this show. And to think people really like this show. Every Monday night, my Timeline on Facebook and Twitter is filled with people waiting to watch this show.  People have gone so far as to attack a character of the show. Now people are really taking this to far. Some of the women who are friends on the show are questionable in my opinion. There are certain things that friends do for each other that I don’t see. Although I don’t watch the show I do read the tweets and posts, I prefer watching Tia and Tamera on Monday nights, followed by Chicagolicious, then Single Ladies.   

As I am conducting interviews about Black women’s best friendships, I am finding out something I have always known, the reality that is shown on TV shows such as Love and Hip Hop: Atlanta is not reality. I can not control what anyone watches on television but I can say realize this is not real. Look at some of your close friendships and relationships and see if you see all of this happening. You may find some similarities but your life is probably not that full of drama. I have decided that I will not be contributing to horrible representations of Black women by partaking in shows that portray us in a negative light every week. Instead I am busy understanding positive relationships that Black women have and sharing this information with as many people as possible. True, you may know people that live a similar lifestyle to what you see on TV but it is not the life of most Black women. You have to be able to separate reality from entertainment. 

Leave a Reply

